Curriculum Information


At Quest School, the curriculum is carefully planned to ensure that it is relevant to the backgrounds and experiences of our international and local student body. With the National Curriculum of England at its core, our enquiry-based approach allows students to fulfil their potential and face the future with confidence.

English, Mathematics and Science is based on the Cambridge Curriculum Standards. Whilst our approach to teaching the other subjects is that of an Integrated curriculum.  We use the Cornerstone Framework to ensure key objectives are met and to make the learning experiences more meaningful for the students.

Throughout each Key Stage, there is an emphasis on teachers and parents working in partnership to address the individual needs of each child and this is encouraged through regular meetings and an open door policy allowing parents to discuss with teachers any issue which may impact on their child’s learning. We actively encourage parents to be involved in their child’s education.

Arabic & Islamic Studies

At Quest School we acknowledge our place in the world and offer high quality programmes that deepen students’ knowledge of the Arabic language and culture.

British Curriculum

The British Curriculum is recognised and respected around the world. It provides students with individualised learning pathways within engaging learning contexts.

Personalised Learning
Students will engage in a C21 curriculum through tailored learning opportunities which encourage the skills needed for them to be curious, confident and creative learners.

Foundation Stage

The dedicated staff in our Early Years department strive to provide a bright, stimulating and exciting environment where everyone feels valued, secure and well cared for.

The Early Years curriculum aims to enable every child to reach their full potential in all areas of their learning and development. Our Early Years programme is based on the English Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, while also reflecting the culture and heritage of everyday life in Bahrain. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage is comprised of Nursery (Foundation Stage 1) and Reception (Foundation Stage 2) and has 7 areas of learning and development:

  1. Personal, social and emotional development
  2. Communication and language
  3. Physical development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the world
  7. Expressive arts and design

The curriculum is delivered through an exciting range of topics which enable children to develop their skills in all seven areas.

Key Stage One

In the Primary years (Years 1-6) we follow the National Curriculum for England, tailored to meet the needs of our international community.

Key Stage 1 is comprised of two year groups: Year 1 (ages 5-6) and Year 2 (ages 6-7). The underlying aim is to further build on the foundations laid in Early Years Foundation Stage and continue to provide a safe, secure and stimulating learning environment that encourages children to become confident in their own abilities.

Key Stage Two

Key Stage 2 is comprised of four year groups: Year 3 (ages 7-8), Year 4 (ages 8-9), Year 5 (ages 9-10) and Year 6 (ages 10-11).

Differentiated lessons pinpointing children’s personal learning targets are identified throughout the curriculum; assessment is both formative and summative, allowing teachers to build up a comprehensive picture of the ‘whole child’.